What's new

Japanese or Mandarin course? Which to choose?

masayoshi

#1 procrastinator
8 Dec 2004
Hello all. Not too sure if that's the correct place to ask this but I'd like the opinion of people who've learned Mandarin and Japanese or either one

I need some advice about whether to choose Mandarin or Japanese to learn in a course. I've learned some Mandarin in the past at school but I need some serious brush-up to perfect it. I'm quite at ease with structure, grammar. Only need to reinforce vocabulary and lots of practice. It's not my native tongue although I speak another Chinese dialect (yeah I'm overseas Chinese)

However, Japanese is something totally new to me (relatively). It's not common at all in my country (neither is Mandarin but Japanese is non-existant). Thing is, I'm currently studying in the UK and Japanese can be learnt here. Since Mandarin is taught (though limited) back home, I was thinking it'd be better to learn a rarer language. More unique at home = Better opportunity ... or so I'm thinking

But then, China is a rising power while Japan is quite on the wane. Everyone's jumping on the bandwagon of learning Mandarin. So rising power v/s existing/waning (??) power? Uniqueness or going along with the masses? Catch the opportunity to learn something new v/s reinforce something acquired to attain full proficiency? ... My thoughts are a bit jumbled :?

You certainly do sound a bit jumbled about which course to take :)

I think the problem is that you seem to have identified two divergent motivations for studying a new language: (1) the instrumental and economical practicality of the language (i.e., I think it will help for a job); and (2) the personal utility gained from learning the language (i.e., I think it would be an interesting challenge). You will need to do a cost-benefit analysis between the two and prioritize from there.