What's new

MEXT 2012 for postgrad.. please help

mokstar

後輩
19 Feb 2008
Hello,

I'm from Canada.
I'm a graduate student in architecture would like to apply to grad school in Japan through the MEXT Scholarship 2012. I will greatly appreciate it if you guys could give me some advices to higher my chances of obtaining the scholarship.

I've already finished all the requirements.

Q1: How much do base qualification on school grades? I am worried. It is around B-, and I heard they prioritize school grades and look for A students. Besides my grades, I am confident in my proposal, my Japanese (intermediate) and my portfolio (architecture students keep a portfolio with all their works: hopefully I can show it if I get an interview)

Q2: Should I write my proposal in Japanese? I know proving my Japanese ability is important. I wonder if I should translate my essay into Japanese, but I am also worried that my poor Japanese language skills will lower the quality of my proposal. Perhaps I could attach the English version? but I dont want it to be messy. I recently found a Japanese private tutor who could assist me in translating it into an authentic Japanese Essay, but not sure if they want the proposal to be pure effort of the applicants, and no interferences at all.

Q3: Should I quickly contact a Japanese professor and see if I have any luck completing my letter of acceptance in advance, in hopes to higher my chances? (finding a Professor to surpervise my research) Although it isn't required at this moment.

My weakness: mediocre school grades
My strengths: decent proposal, some Japanese language ability (around intermediate level), good school portfolio (school works - architecture)

My university choices are 1. Tokyo university 2. Waseda 3. Nihon 4. Meiji

I am a hard-working, and strong-willed person who have dreamed to study my major in Japan since forever. This is a very important opportunity for me. I would really appreciate your feedbacks!!