What's new

Seeking reliable Japanese Translation

Christopher

後輩
3 Oct 2015
Hello & thank you in advance for your time,

I am planning to travel to Japan in the near future to study Soto-Zen,
and have recently discovered a place that may be willing to accommodate
myself during my stay (Hoshion-Shoja), however, we are having slight translation issues about the finer
details. I am seeking aid from somebody that may be willing to assist me with my queries. I would
use Google Translator, but I have heard previously of its unreliability, so I figured posting on here
would settle for more adequate results. I would like to ask the following in Japanese;

. I am a complete beginner in regards to Soto-Zen, do you except complete beginners?
. Would Hoshion-Shoja provide accommodation during my stay?
. How long would I be able to stay at Hoshion-Shoja?
. During my stay, will food be provided?
. Are there any fee's involved? i.e food, accommodation, travel etc
. I do not consume meat or dairy, are there alternative options for meals?
. I have not booked my travel to Japan as of yet, although I would be willing to do so upon my acceptance at Hoshion-Shoja

Thanks again guys!

Have you already contacted them? The site says that the temple has people that can speak English. How about to ask them in English?

Thanks for the speedy reply. I have been in contact with a gentleman by the name of Rev.Dainen Noda, who speaks very little english so it has been a struggle to identify the details.

Have you tried using simple sentences and basic vocabulary?

If you're using the style you used in your original post, it is probably not accessible by many non-native English speakers in Japan. Think functional, not flowery. The goal is communication, not confusion.

This question is not really about this booking, if you're unable to communicate with these people how exactly do you plan to study under them?