What's new

Strategy to find an ESL job?

CyrusK

Registered
29 May 2015
Hey, was just hoping for some pointers,

I have a bachelor's degree (Media Arts) and a minor in Japanese language, and i'm from the USA. I've often thought about how it would be cool to teach in Japan. I have some questions for anyone who's done it:

What type of teaching certificate do you suggest? I am considering the CELTA, but in most places it's almost $2,000, which is a huge bite.

Do you know if you have to be inside your country of residence to apply? I'm currently a traveler / nomad, and I know some English teaching jobs require going back to the USA to be able to apply.

i'd be willing to go anywhere in Japan, pretty much. What are the odds of even getting such a job?

Thanks for your help - CK

CELTA is the number one accepted cert in the world most of the time. (Most teaching situations in Japan, however, don't even require a cert, so get one if you are getting into a competitive area of EFL (not ESL, get that straight) or if you plan to teach long-term).

For most positions here, you can apply from anywhere in the world. If you want to join the JET programme, you have to interview in your home country. If you actually want to interview for most other jobs here, it's best to be here (or explain to potential employers that you will soon be here), although a handful of places will do something like a Skype interview. Not many, though.

I have a bachelor's degree (Media Arts) and a minor in Japanese language, and i'm from the USA.

i'd be willing to go anywhere in Japan, pretty much. What are the odds of even getting such a job?
You are as minimally qualified as most applicants, including having a nationality that is widely accepted. To really give you an answer, I need to explore some questions first.

1. When do you want to work?
2. What kind of EFL teaching do you want to do?
3. How soon could you be here for any sort of interview?
4. Do you have access to Skype on the road?