What's new

Civilian Jobs on Okinawa

SNMP

先輩
22 Jan 2007
Hello all, Im very new at this, but I am wondering if anyone has advice on the best way to go about getting a job on Okinawa. Details: I am 25, civilian, I only have an Associates Degree, also a vocational certificate. I will be going there soon on a tourist VISA, at least at first.

What I am wondering is how to go about a job search and if there is a smart way to do it from here in the states. Are there reccomended jobs I should shoot for (entry level is just fine with me, I have no problem having to climb the ladder). I keep looking at government jobs on military bases there, but not sure which ones are best to apply to get my foot in the door, or if there is a better option.

Thanks ahead of time!

With your educational background you're pretty much going to be limited to working for the military, with the DOD sponsoring your visa. I'm not knocking your educational achievements, which outstrip my own. It's just that the immigration folks require a bachelor's degree in most cases.

The US military doesn't often hire directly from the foreign (non-Japanese) population in Japan, first hired are spouses and dependents of active duty military personel. However once (if) you get your foot in the door the possibility exists to move laterally through the system.
Also many of the entry level positions that may be open, like working at a club or for MCCS, and that are filled locally require at the minimum a valid working visa.
The US military doesn't directly sponsor visa's, what they do do if a person is hired is give them SOFA status, which also gives the person all the rights and privledges associated with the base and which places them under the direction and governance of the US Government.
Like Mike said Japanese immigration will usually require a bachelors degree for a work visa, unless you are coming over here with some specific skill visa.