What's new

How to know what meaning is being used when? And some other stuff...

Nocturnia

Registered
21 May 2016
Hi.

I recently started studying Japanese. I really like the language and am further motivated to learn it by my plans to travel to Japan and stay there for awhile while working as an Assistant Language Teacher. I've run into many problems, but for now I'm just going to ask about the one most on my mind right now, and that problem is...

How do I know what a word means when I hear it spoken? As I learn vocabulary, on one hand I feel like I'm getting somewhere because I can recall various words and what they mean. However, when a word has more than one or two meanings, how am I supposed to figure out what meaning is being used? When writing, this problem is avoided by using different Kanji for the same word - but you can't see Kanji when people speak! For example, here's a word I recently learned: 'hazama' (I'm using Romaji because using Kanji would make the meaning clear).

When I looked up 'hazama', this is what I got:

1. Interval; threshold; interstice
2. Valley; gorge; ravine
3. Loophole; eyelet

For me, the easiest meaning to remember was 'valley'. And because 'valley', 'gorge', and 'ravine' are all similar land forms, I can just combine them all into one idea that I associate with 'hazama' (basically, I can think of it as "a dip in the land"). The third list of translations seems to have meanings that aren't likely to appear in conversations, so I can just ignore it until later, when/if I am learning more advanced Japanese.