What's new

Need Help Finding Culturally-Appropriate Setting For a Comic

Phantomsky

Registered
11 Mar 2017
Hi there,

I'm a comic book writer that is currently working on a manga-styled horror comic that's set in Japan.
I have never been to Japan but have studied the country and culture to the best of my ability in order to write as authentic a story as possible and to not step on any cultural toes, but I am having trouble with writing the setting of the comic.

Without getting into too many details. The comic is essentially a send up to Western style slasher movies but with a typical cast you'd find in a high school/realistic slice of life manga.

The setting (in my current draft) is a forested area with a prominent mountain and lake, along with a personal villa/lakehouse type building (owned by one of the characters, a rich girl).

I have been looking into a number of parks and forests through Japan's many tourism sites, but not finding one that meets these criteria, such as Akan National Park that seems to not have any private residences allowed.
So I've come onto this forum for two bits of advice.

Is there a place in Japan that meets what my setting needs (a mountain, a lake, and allows personal residential buildings in the area) that I've missed and that I can look into?

And if not, would it be appropriate (and easier) for me to either A. Fudge the real life facts about the location to justify the presence of a lake house for the characters, or B. Create a fictional location/mountain/lake to justify the setting and not unintentionally misrepresent an actual park/forest/location?

Many thanks.

Don't now what you mean by Akan not allowing private residences. I live only a couple of hours from there.

How about Shikotsu Lake or Toya Lake (both also in Hokkaido)? Or any of the lakes surrounding Fuji?

Don't now what you mean by Akan not allowing private residences. I live only a couple of hours from there.