What's new

Particles

samuraitora

先輩
29 May 2002
Hajimemashite.
this is my first post.

I have been studying Japanese for about 12 years on and off, and I still have a problem with particles. :oops:

Is there an easy way to remember what they mean and how and where to use each one? :confused:

hmmm .... good question.
After living in Japan for almost 10 years I still have trouble with them at times.

Way back when I just game up struggling with them and decided to allow myself be corrected. If you're not in a situation where you can practice "live Japanese" then it's going to be uch more difficult.

Thinking about this some more, I think I started using more and more properly was when I stopped using them as words and started using them as grammar markers (pointers, dividers ... )

watashi "ha" <--- subject designator
kare "ga" <--- object marker
e / ni <--- direction marker

I'm still horrible at grammar but slowly I got the feel for them.

Listening also helps.
You'll notice them with more and more practice.
You'll also notice where and when they're being used and not used.

I wonder if anybody else has some pointers?

good luck and welcome aboard!

All about particles

I suck at particles, too, but there is an excellent book available on Amazon.com or Barnes and Noble (or your favorite book store) called, "All About Particles" by Naoko Chino. She has another book that I am working on right now that is written all in Japanese. It's called "Gaikokujin no tame no joshi", but I'd say you'd have to be pretty good at Japanese to find and order it. For what it's worth, the title is this in Japanese:
外国人のための助詞

and her name is 茅野 直子

Good luck!

That link is alright, albeit a bit basic

It's missed out the other common particles such as: "kara" and the obvious "no"

I don't know about great tips for learning when to use them. I just kinda guess what it is most of the time (with the exception of "ga" and "wa" which are really confusing at times)